Two months postpartum… A reintroduction

How is my little girl two months old already?! The time has gone so quickly. The last two months have been a complete whirlwind, full of nappies, laundry and tears (and not always the babies tears!). They have also been, without a doubt, the best two months of my life.

It has also been almost two months since I last blogged, mainly because I’ve barely had time to pee on my own, nevermind sit down and write!

16422247_10155025912087269_94749852022429999_o

I’m back to it now though, and wanted to do a little post about how I have found my introduction to motherhood, how Isla is doing and also how I am feeling a couple of months after giving birth.

Isla is thriving. She was 9lb 5oz at birth, and is now over 14lb! She is such a gorgeous little chunk. She has suffered with colic since birth, and this is showing no signs of disappearing anytime soon. We cannot complain though, because much to the annoyance of all my Mummy friends, she is a fantastic sleeper, snoozing for seven hours straight most nights. I’m always scared of telling anyone about this for fear of jinxing it! She gives us big smiles when she wakes up which absolutely melt my heart. She is really starting to develop a huge personality now and we can already tell she’s going to be a cheeky little thing.

17015725_10155109861242269_2758676947015024006_o.jpg

Two months since squeezing out a 9 and half pound baby, I am doing remarkably well, and starting to feel like my old self. I am lucky that I have healed very quickly. The only reminder of pregnancy, other than the baby, is my ‘Mummy Tummy’. I did lose almost two stone immediately after giving birth, but have put on a few pounds since. Breastfeeding is making me eat ALL THE FOOD, and I really need to get on top of it! Having said that, I am eating a Cadbury’s Creme Egg as I write this post, so perhaps we will save the diet for another day.

It’s six weeks now since my husband returned to work after paternity leave. I made no secret of the fact that I was absolutely dreading him going back, but we soon adjusted to been on our own. We’ve got into a routine that works for us and we seem to be ticking over just fine. Our mornings are spent cleaning and doing laundry, before playing and taking part in baby classes in the afternoon. We also enjoy the occasional afternoon snooze, but don’t tell my husband about that!

So there we are, a very brief summary of our last two months. I hope, baby willing, to start writing more regularly now. This may often be the only adult ‘conversation’ I get, so I need to keep up with it!

L xx

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

